The deadline for this scholarship has passed. See other opportunities

Criteria for Nomination 

This award recognizes a junior female emergency medicine attending who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in Emergency Medicine through advocacy, administration, education, or research. Similar in intent to sports-based “rising star” awards, the AAWEP Rising Star Award is given annually to a standout young EM physician who displays exceptional service and/or outstanding leadership in the profession.

Nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Contributions to promote mentoring and professional development of women physicians
  • Active member of ACEP
  • Role model to female emergency physicians to include notable service to professional Emergency Medicine organizations

Any member of the American Association of Women Emergency Physicians (AAWEP) may nominate himself/herself or another member for this award.

Deadline for nominations: MAY 31, 2019

Selection and Presentation

The Rising Star award winner is selected by the AAWEP Awards Committee through a majority vote; in the event of a tie, the deciding vote belongs to the committee chair. The recipient will be announced by, JUNE 28. The award will be presented at the AAWEP meeting at ACEP Scientific Assembly 2019 in, Denver.

Click here for details and to complete the nomination form.